2023-2024

DEAWILICENSCIEECES

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

All fees listed include a nonrefundable application fee (residents: $7; nonresidents: $13).
Resident Nonresident

Standard Elk License

(Residents 18-64 years of age and all nonresidents)

A (Antlerless) $60 Not Issued
MB (Mature Bull) $90 $548

ES (Either Sex) $90 $548
Quality or High-Demand Elk License (pages 124, 126)

A $60 Not Issued
MB $90 $773

ES $90 $773
Junior/Senior Elk License (See page 14 for eligibility requirements)

A $58 Not issued
MB $58 Not issued
ES $58 Not issued
Deer License

Standard (S) $41 $283
Quality (Q) $41 $368

High Demand (HD) $41 $368
Junior/Senior $29 Not issued
Pronghorn License $60 $283
Javelina License $65 $178

Bighorn Sheep License

Ram $160 $3,173
Ewe $85 $3173
Oryx License $160 $1,623
Ibex License $110 $1,623
Barbary Sheep License $110 $373
Bear Permit (application fee only') $7 $13
Turkey Permit (application fee only’) $7 $13

1 Successful applicants must purchase a 2023-24 game-hunting license or a game-hunting & fishing
license, plus the applicable over-the-counter license and stamp(s) beginning March 27. Carcass tag
required, unless the E-Tag option is chosen.
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2023-2024

DFaWHUNTLICENSES

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

Application Requirements

When applying for draw licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex,
javelina, oryx and pronghorn, hunters must purchase a nonrefundable 2023-24
game-hunting license or game-hunting & fishing license and HMAYV if applicable.
Game-hunting licenses are available online or by telephone through the draw
application process. Before March 27, game-hunting licenses and stamps for the
2023-2024 season may be purchased only through the draw application process.
Successful applicants for draw licenses will be mailed a combination license/tag,
unless the E-Tag option is chosen.

Application and full license fees for each species are charged at the time the
application is submitted. Unsuccessful draw applicants will be refunded the draw
license fee, but not the application fee.

To apply for bear and turkey draw permits, prior purchase of a bear, turkey or
game-hunting license is not required. If the applicant is successful in the draw,
purchase of a license with tag will be required after March 27. Permits will not be
available until the appropriate license(s) are purchased.

How the Draw Hunt System Works
All draw applications are entered into an automated system that randomly assigns
each application a sequence number. Based on this number and the quotas listed
below, the system matches the first, second then third choices on the application
with available licenses or permits. If all choices have already been awarded, the
system advances to the next application. New Mexico does not grant preference to
previously unsuccessful applicants. If a fourth-choice hunt is entered for deer or
elk, the applicant may be awarded any hunt for the same sporting arm that has not
allocated all available licenses. Only successful applicants will be notified by
email. Unsuccessful applicants will not be notified, but may check their NMDGF
account online. For more information about the draw hunt system, visit:
www.wildlife.state.nm.us/hunting/applications-and-draw-information/.
Drawing Quotas: New Mexico state law has established the following quotas for
draw hunts for all big-game and turkey licenses and permits:
o A minimum of 84% of draw licenses are awarded to New Mexico residents.
« 10% of draw licenses are awarded to residents and nonresidents applying with a
New Mexico registered outfitter. See page 33.
6% of draw licenses are awarded to nonresidents applying without a New
Mexico registered outfitter.
« 100% of draw licenses for antlerless elk and hunts held exclusively on Wildlife
Management Areas are awarded to New Mexico residents.
« Population management hunts are not subject to quota.
Nonresident and Outfitted Applicants Please Note: It is extremely unlikely
for an outfitted applicant to draw a hunt code with six or fewer licenses or for a
nonresident to draw a hunt code with twelve or fewer licenses. Residents planning to
apply with one or more nonresidents should also be aware of this when applying.
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